#1  
Old 06-17-2009, 02:42 AM
teh.sean teh.sean is offline
Technophile
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: http://www.livesmallbag.com/
Posts: 435
Default Has anyone successfully moved swap to SD?

There are several of us banging our heads up against the wall trying to do this, and I'm starting to think that perhaps it's just _not_ going to work.

It goes to the point that you can change the settings in Windows, confirm your new settings in the registry, reboot and then easily see that no new swapfiles are being created on the microSD card.

For all of you who have done this, check for pagefile.sys on your SD card and confirm that it's there. For anyone that has it, I'm sure I'll have questions later! : P
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-17-2009, 08:04 AM
tchernev tchernev is offline
Tech Curious
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 18
Default Re: Has anyone successfully moved swap to SD?

When I put Win2K on my EeepC 900A I added a ramdisk and it came with a separate utility (addswap.exe) to put swap on the ramdisk. The issue is that Win does not put swap on a removable drive and this utility makes it work for such drives. You could try it, the link to follow is

http://www.mydigitallife.info/2007/0...d-2003-server/

It worked for me, but as I don't really know exactly how it works, use at your own risk!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-17-2009, 08:50 AM
teh.sean teh.sean is offline
Technophile
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: http://www.livesmallbag.com/
Posts: 435
Default Re: Has anyone successfully moved swap to SD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tchernev View Post
When I put Win2K on my EeepC 900A I added a ramdisk and it came with a separate utility (addswap.exe) to put swap on the ramdisk. The issue is that Win does not put swap on a removable drive and this utility makes it work for such drives. You could try it, the link to follow is

http://www.mydigitallife.info/2007/0...d-2003-server/

It worked for me, but as I don't really know exactly how it works, use at your own risk!
Thanks for the input!

Just tried this out, sans the RAMDISK, and it did not work. Pretty much the same result, windows thinks it's created a ramdisk, or at least does not notify of any issue, and then there's nothing on the card drive.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-17-2009, 09:09 AM
teh.sean teh.sean is offline
Technophile
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: http://www.livesmallbag.com/
Posts: 435
Default Re: Has anyone successfully moved swap to SD?

It's looking like the issue is an OS specific one. Windows XP apparently does not support pagefiles on removable media. My question knowing this: is there anyway to trick windows into thinking the SD slot is not removable?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-17-2009, 09:25 AM
mtotho mtotho is offline
Tech Fan
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 61
Default Re: Has anyone successfully moved swap to SD?

Hmm, idk. I just check C:\ and i see a pagefile.sys at 753 mb. And i dont see one in my sd card.. and in the pagefile settings its only set to the SD card. i guess this is a problem

hmm doing some research.. it seems that the usb drives (sd) are not detected until after windows boots and thus could not be used as primary page drives.. im still doing more research though

. I think u can use the SD card as a page file.. just not the primary one.

Last edited by mtotho; 06-17-2009 at 09:41 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-17-2009, 10:02 AM
teh.sean teh.sean is offline
Technophile
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: http://www.livesmallbag.com/
Posts: 435
Default Re: Has anyone successfully moved swap to SD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtotho View Post
. I think u can use the SD card as a page file.. just not the primary one.
From my experimentation, I have yet to get the system to create a page file on the SD card at all. I may play with this again later. Having a small fixed size page file on the primary drive is good for system logs and crashes though.

After testing, it seems that you cannot use the SD card even as a SECONDARY pagefile. Here's what I did:
1. Removed any existing pagefiles on SSD or SD through the System -> Performance Options -> Virtual Memory menu.
2. Rebooted, confirmed there were no pagefile.sys files available
3. Configured a small 50mb pagefile on SSD, and a 1gb pagefile on SD.
4. Rebooted, confirmed the 50mb pagefile was created, but no SD pagefile. If I go back to the Virtual Memory menu, it states:
'Total paging file for all drives: 50MB'

So. . . . It looks like I was wrong about being able to do this, and I would assume that anyone who thinks they have pagefiles on their SD card actually don't. But I'd love to be proved wrong! This is all assuming that you are running XP, I think there are no such limitations in Linux.

Last edited by teh.sean; 06-17-2009 at 10:22 AM. Reason: tested!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -10. The time now is 08:24 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Back to Top Copyright © 2006-2014 CrowdGather. All rights reserved. About Pocketables | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | Contact